Les soins dentaires prodigués par un prosthodontiste

Tel qu’énoncé par l’ADC (Association dentaire canadienne), le prosthodontiste restaure, à l’aide de susbstituts artificiels, l’esthétique, la fonction et le confort d’une dentition. Ces restaurations incluent les obturations, les prothèses, les facettes, les couronnes, ponts et implants, dans le but de réparer les dents abîmées, remplacer les dents absentes, implanto-porter les prothèses/couronnes/ponts, corriger les problèmes esthétiques bucco-faciaux.

Réparer les dents abîmées

Plusieurs facteurs peuvent endommager une dentition, entre autres: le stage de développement, les caries, les mauvaises restaurations, les traumatismes, le bruxisme, l’acide (dû à la maladie ou au régime alimentaire), la diminution de l’écoulement de la salive, etc. Le prosthodontiste corrige ces problèmes à l’aide d’interventions telles les obturations, les facettes, les couronnes, et autres. Leur complexité varie selon les besoins de chaque patient et vont d’une simple procédure jusqu’à la réhabilitation complète.

Badly worn teeth Same teeth after treatment.
Dents très usées Mêmes dents après traitement

 


 

Remplacer les dents absentes

Il existe plusieurs substituts aux dents manquantes, que le prosthodontiste maîtrise: prothèses complètes, prothèses partielles amovibles, implants dentaires, ponts fixes, ou une combinaison parmi ceux-ci. Votre spécialiste en Prosthodontie en est l’expert; il possède une connaissance approfondie des techniques laboratoires qui s’y rattachent et collabore étroitement avec le technicien dentaire afin d’assurer le plus grand confort et la meilleure apparence pour son patient.

Implants dentaires

Les prosthodontistes sont les pionniers de l’implantologie et de ses progrès remarquables depuis plus de trente ans. L’implant, par conséquent, est maintenant l’alternative de prédilection par rapport aux options conventionnelles et offre aux patients, qui ont besoin de remplacer une ou plusieurs dents, de merveilleux avantages.

 


 

implants in upper jaw implants in lower jaw
Implants au maxillaire supérieur Implants à la mandibule
Panoramic radiograph of implants in upper and lower jaws
Radiographie panoramique des implants au maxillaire et à la mandibule
Implant prostheses in place Implant prostheses with smile
Prothèse implanto-portée en place Un sourire créé par les implants!

 


 

La dentisterie esthétique et cosmétique

Une partie importante dans la pratique courante du prosthodontiste concerne l’esthétique. Qu’il s’agisse de la restauration d’une seule dent ou d’une réhabilitation élaborée, le dénominateur commun demeure la composante artificielle qui doit s’harmoniser avec le reste de son environnement buccal: la Prosthodontie et l’esthétique vont de pair. Toute procédure en bouche doit assurer la fonction et le confort, mais aussi la reproduction fidèle de la forme et de l’esthétique. Étant donné que la population canadienne jouit d’une longévité croissante et qu’elle conserve sa dentition naturelle plus longtemps, le prosthodontiste a le rôle indispensable d’assurer la santé ainsi que l’apparence attrayante de ses patients. Il est l’expert du blanchiment et des techniques de mordançage, de l’agencement des couleurs, de l’utilisation des facettes pour recontourner les dents et rehausser leur apparence, ainsi que la fabrication et le placement précis de prothèses fixes et amovibles, complètes et partielles. Il unit les soins de santé buccale avec les yeux et les mains de l’artiste pour créer des restaurations d’apparence tout à fait naturelle.

Cas difficiles

Le prosthodontiste saisit fort bien la relation occlusale entre dents et mâchoires. En collaboration avec d’autres spécialistes, le prosthodontiste traite les anomalies congénitales, telle la fissure palatine, les dysfonctions temporomandibulaires, les lésions traumatiques, en plus des patients qui ont subi une radiothérapie post-cancer, par exemple.

Veuillez utiliser ce site pour Trouver un prosthodontiste et/ou en discuter avec votre dentiste.

Missing central incisors Restored central incisors
Incisives centrales manquantes Incisives centrales restaurées

Patients



English | Francais
Cherchez un prosthodontiste près de vous
Trouver un Prosthodontiste

Dental treatments provided by the Prosthodontist

As defined by the CDA, Prosthodontists restore esthetics, function and comfort with artificial substitutes. These artificial materials constitute a wide variety of restorations including fillings, dentures, veneers, crowns, bridges and oral implants. These restorations are used by the Prosthodontist in his/her everyday practice to restore damaged teeth, replace missing teeth, anchor dentures/crowns/bridges with dental implants, enhance patientsí esthetics (dental and facial) and correct orofacial problems.

Restoring damaged teeth

Damage to the teeth can occur during the development of teeth or caused by caries, failing restorations, trauma, teeth grinding, exposure of teeth to acid (diet or disease) or reduction of salivary flow. Prosthodontists provide services such as fillings, veneers and crowns to address each patientís concerns. The complexity of every dental condition is variable and could range from minor intervention to comprehensive treatment.

Badly worn teeth Same teeth after treatment.
Badly worn teeth Same teeth after treatment

Replacing missing teeth

Prosthodontists offer their patients a wide range of options to replace missing teeth depending on each patient's needs. Whether a patient is a candidate for complete dentures, a removable partial denture, dental implants, a fixed bridge or combination of treatment alternatives, Prosthodontists are well-educated to provide high-quality care. These specialists have an excellent understanding of dental laboratory procedures, and they work closely with dental technicians to ensure that each custom-made prosthesis is attractive and comfortable for the patient.

Oral implants

One of the remarkable advances in dentistry today Ė oral implants - is directly related to the services Prosthodontists provide. Canadian Prosthodontists have been pioneers and instrumental in fostering these advances. They have been in the vanguard of research over the last thirty years concerning the effectiveness of dental implants. As a possible alternative to conventional tooth replacement options, dental implants offer patients wonderful advantages. This biotechnology is rapidly becoming the state of the art treatment option among patients who are missing all or some of their teeth.

implants in upper jaw implants in lower jaw
Implants in upper jaw Implants in lower jaw
Panoramic radiograph of implants in upper and lower jaws
Panoramic radiograph of implants in upper and lower jaws
Implant prostheses in place Implant prostheses with smile
Implant prostheses in place A smile made with Implants!

Aesthetic and cosmetic dentistry

A major part of a Prosthodontistís everyday work is related to cosmetics. Whether it is a single restoration or a more extensive rehabilitation, there is always a common denominator: the artificial component(s) has to blend harmoniously with the surrounding oral environment. In everyday practice, Prosthodontics and cosmetics go hand in hand. Any procedure prescribed to a patient not only has to be functional and comfortable but it also has to faithfully reproduce form and esthetics. Since the Canadian population are retaining more of their own teeth as they age and also living longer, Prosthodontists are playing a key role in helping patients maintain a healthy and attractive appearance. Prosthodontists are experts in whitening and bonding techniques, colour matching, use of veneers to reshape teeth and enhance appearance, and the precise fabrication and placement of fixed prostheses such as crowns and bridges. Prosthodontists combine the mind of a health care professional with the hands and the eyes of an artist to create healthy natural-looking restorations.

Complex cases

A Prosthodontist's training includes in-depth study and experience in the relationship of teeth and jaws necessary for a proper bite. Working with other specialists, Prosthodontists provide treatment for patients with birth defects such as cleft palate; conditions such as temporomandibular joint disorders (TMD); traumatic injuries; and complex restorations for patients who have undergone surgical radiation treatment for head and neck cancer.

Please feel free to use this website to Find a Prosthodontist near you and/or talk to your dentist.

Missing central incisors Restored central incisors
Missing central incisors Restored central incisors

For Patients

English | Francais
Find a Prosthodontist near you
Find a Prosthodontist